Faculty     Directors                      

 Faculty     Directors         

The Melton Learning Experience: Text-Based, Pluralistic and Interactive

Cup of Coffee - Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on UnsplashPhoto by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

Watch recorded lessons below. New lessons will be posted once they are available.


Freedom is a State of Mind: Passover 2020

Lesson 1 - Yetziat Mitzrayim: The Exodus from Egypt – Then and Today (recorded 23 March 2020)


From Sinai to Seinfeld: Jews and Their Jokes

Lesson 1 - “A lack of graves” - The courage and audacity to argue with God (recorded 24 March 2020)


Vayikra (Leviticus): A Call to Holiness

Lesson 1 - Challenges and Opportunities in Studying Vayikra (recorded 25 March 2020)


Jewish Medical Ethics: A 21st Century Discussion

Lesson 1- Prenatal Interventions and the Termination of Pregnancy (this recording will be available soon)


If you have enjoyed learning online with Melton, please consider making a donation at this time.

Support Melton

During these trying times of COVID-19, Melton is pleased to offer, at no cost, a selection of sessions from our extensive course library ONLINE to learners around the world via Zoom. 

Register Now

Class lessons that have already occurred will be posted shortly afterwards.

Freedom is a State of Mind: Passover 2020

MON calendarRevisit the story of the Exodus from Egypt, considering its implications for our lives this year. The final lesson will offer a review of the Passover seder accompanied by some tips for current, relevant table discussions.

with Rabbi Dr. Morey Schwartz, Melton’s International Director

Three Mondays: March 23, 30; April 6, 2020
9 AM PDT  /  11 AM CDT  /  Noon EDT  /  6 PM SAST

From Sinai to Seinfeld: Jews and Their Jokes

TUE calendarRight now, many of us could use a good laugh! Treating Jewish jokes as text, this course invites learners to analyze and interpret the evolving concerns, styles, rhythms, preoccupations, and values of the Jewish people that lie buried deep in words that make us laugh and bond us as a people.

with Cantor Mark Childs, Santa Barbara

Four Tuesdays: March 24, 31; April 21, 28, 2020Learn with Us
5 PM PDT  /  7 PM CDT  /  8 PM EDT
(Wednesday at 11 AM AEDT, and 10 AM AEST after April 5th time change)

Leviticus (Vayikra): A Call To Holiness

WED calendarAs our Torah reading cycle approaches the book of Leviticus, join us for a textual study of selected passages. This course uncovers the depth and wisdom of the third book of the Torah and reveals its enduring messages that touch our lives to this very day.

with Judy Snowbell Diamond, Course Author & Melton Coordinator of Educational Projects

Four Wednesdays: March 25; April 1, 22, 29, 2020
9 AM PDT  /  11 AM CDT  /  Noon EDT  /  6 PM SAST

Jewish Medical Ethics:
A 21st Century Discussion

THU calendarWhile contemporary medical knowledge preserves life, modern advances have raised moral and ethical dilemmas related to the sanctity and dignity of life – issues whose scope was unimaginable a generation ago. This course will explore the many Jewish approaches to a variety of 21st century ethical issues.

with Dr. Sandra Lilienthal, Melton Master Teacher in Miami and Boca Raton

Four Thursdays: March 26; April 2, 23, 30, 2020 

Noon PDT  /  2 PM CDT  /  3 PM EDT

(Friday at 6 AM AEDT, and 5 AM AEST after April 5th time change)

Courses are being offered at no charge, although donations will be gratefully accepted. In place of books, registered learners will receive lessons electronically.

 

Register Now

Become an Alumni Ambassador

Support quality adult Jewish Education worldwide by becoming a Melton Alumni Ambassador today.
 
Join Now

Stay Informed

Sign up to receive the latest news from Melton.

Follow Us